The Open Science and Reproducible Research course, Diversity in science, and other happenings

We’re moving forward on the OSRR course, so YAY.  I’ve got a syllabus and schedule drafted- you can comment on it here. If you’re listed as a guest speaker, SURPRISE! 🙂 Note that this is a  tentative class schedule and we’ll probably move things around a fair bit. I’ll be in contact.

November was a whirlwind month.  Not long after returning from Fellows onboarding in New York in October, I was whisked away to MozFest in London, then had a few days of down time before travelling to the Entomological Society of America Meeting in Minneapolis.  I’ve been spending most of my non-travel time working on getting my balls back up in the air, so to speak.  Job applications1, students2, paper reviews, designing a course, administrative stuff, dying aphids3.

Some brief updates from the land of Dr. B:

  • going to the two meetings back-to-back, I was REALLY stuck by the differences in demographics I observed between the open science community at MozFest and that I observed at the meeting in my home academic field. To put it frankly, the diversity of people interested in, and able to contribute meaningfully to science that I met in London does not match the diversity of the people employed as professional scientists. This is a problem we should ALL be concerned with solving.
  • I am working on a book review, because I’m the type of person that’s asked to do book reviews now. Isn’t that COOL?!5
  • I’m very thrilled to hear the word ‘open’ coming more and more from the government of my home country since the election. I will have more to say about that soon. But in the meanwhile, keep up the good work, Justin! 6

Exciting things are afoot! Stay tuned!


1. #operationhiremeplease2016 #postdoclife
2. or as I like to call them, “future case studies in reproducible research” which the students really like, in practice.
3. I think it’s a humidity thing. But the ladybugs have got to eat, so this is A Problem.
4. To put it into jargon my fellow ecologists can understand,HMoz >>> HEnt, on trait axes of gender, race, age, ethnicity.
5. My inner teen aged nerd self feels clever and powerful.
6. I am not a one issue person. Now, hold still while I talk at you about how open science relates to me buying a share in my local CSA….

About cbahlai

Hi! I'm Christie and I'm an applied ecologist and postdoc in the midwestern US. I am an #otherpeoplesdata wrangler, stats enthusiast, and, of course, a bug counter. I cohabitate with five other vertebrates: one spouse, one preschooler, one teeny baby and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

